Monday, September 19, 2011

All about me!

I am a quilter, a gardener and a genealogist. We live on a life-style block of 10 acres, in a small rural community called Pokeno.

I have two fantastic sons and one adorable grandson. I have been married to Mike for 33 years and apart from time out to be a mum, have worked in administration roles, mainly in the medical field. I also took time out to look after an elderly aunt for several years.

I have been an avid gardener for many years but that has taken a back seat in the last 3 years since taking up quilting. In the last 12 months I have got back into chasing family history, especially now that we have a grandchild, it will be nice for him to know not only who we are, but who came before us.

I am owned by a huge and very lazy cat named Fred and an elderly Border Collie named Zac. We also have a couple of farm dogs and a small number of sheep, cows and chickens.

I grew up in South Auckland with one brother and two sisters, me being the eldest. Mum and dad still live in the house they moved into on my first birthday.

Apart from the above 3 interests I have developed a love for travel, thanks to both my sons moving to the other side of the world. I never thought it was something I either wanted or needed to do, but have really enjoyed the trips I have had in the last 5 years and hope to make many more.

Well, thats about it!


  1. Hi Cathy, great stuff, you made it, well done. Looking forward to seeing more on here. It gets very addictive.

  2. I don't think I would make a very good addict Jan, it has taken me a month to get back on here! Promise to use it more often.